Throwback Thursday: SNES RPGs


For your (throwback) Thursday enjoyment, here is a quickly thrown together list of what I consider some of the best SNES RPGs, in no particular order. Please note that I said “some of,” and not “all.” If you wish to contribute to this list, please do so in the comments!:

Chrono Trigger

I cannot concisely sum up why this game is so great. The awesome time travel, branching storylines, character development, and immersion may have something to do with it. Oh, and Flea. I love Flea.

Super Mario RPG

This game was genuinely hilarious. Also, I loved that Bowser and Peach become part of the team. Also, the minigames. Also, the super simple, yet super compelling battle system. Also, does anyone else think that cakeboss looks absolutely delicious?

Secret of Mana

You might be thinking, “this is the dumbest list; everyone who’s anyone already knows these games rock.” You might be right. I’m not even going to talk about this one.

Final Fantasy III (VI)

Brilliant storyline/setting. Awesome characters (and villain).

Earthbound

I shouldn’t even have to justify this one.

Games that I want to give a shout out to, but that I am too lazy to find pictures or write for:

  • Secret of Evermore
  • Lufia II
  • Illusion of Gaia
  • Seiken Densetsu
  • Tales of Phantasia
6 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: SNES RPGs

  1. Great list! Do many of my childhood favorites.
    One SNES RPG that I recommend is Live-A-Live, even though it’s only available through emulation… for now. It has some very unique gimmicks in it. You have to beat scenarios that star characters from various eras and countries. My favorite is the one where you play a kung fu master who has to decide upon a successor. My second favorite, although it’s short (even shorter than the others) is the modern day one where a young fighter beats a roster of opponents, Street Fighter-style.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Earthbound, Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy 6 are three of my favorite RPG’s. The SNES had a ton (some of which sadly didn’t make it out of Japan) and they helped set the bar for what an RPG should be.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you're thinking!

