Amiibo (Super Smash Bros Wii U)


Like any other rabid Nintendo fan, when I found out that these cool little figurines were being released, my initial reaction was to treat them like Pokémon. I absolutely had to collect them all. Now that the SSB/Amiibo hype has reached its peak, I’ll be happy to settle on buying just my favorite characters.

For those of you still wondering what the hell I’m talking about, I’ll explain a little bit more. An Amiibo is a cute little figurine that you can use to… do stuff on certain WiiU games (SSB in particular). You just tap the bottom of your figurine against your gamepad and BAM! Your Amiibo is registered to your WiiU and will… again, do things on your games. You can find an equally vague description of the Amiibo here.

Luigi Amiibo, in his most fitting pose

I was super excited when Nintendo Direct announced the Amiibo. Fils-Aimé and Iwata made it sound like the figurines would house a customized Smash Bros character that you could take with you and use during battle. Sadly, this is not the case. When I fired up my copy of SSB a few days ago, I discovered that the Amiibos I had bought (Peach and DK, if you wanted to know) could be customized and leveled up… but that they only worked as CPUs (first world problems, I know). It is quite fascinating to watch an all CPU SSB game, but at the same time, I was a little disappointed when I couldn’t interact with my Amiibo on the level that I had anticipated.

I realize it is completely my fault for not researching this further. That being said, I am going to collect at least eight Amiibos (is Amiibo plural for Amiibo?), level them all up to max, and then pit them against each other in the most ultimate SSB CPU fight ever. That makes it all worth it in the end.

Are any of you SSB fans? Are you planning on buying any Amiibo(s)? Unleash the hype and/or the rage in the comments section, please!

Tell me what you're thinking!

